GOLVET Restaurant

GOLVET × THE HAUS

In the heart of the city with a spectacular view and a down to earth attitude, urban art joins gourmet cuisine in the middle of the vibrant gallery neighborhood of Potsdamerstraße. What might not fit at first glance, opens up completely new perspectives and creates a multidimensional sensual experience. Each artist received a dedicated space to and absolute freedom in creating his piece of art. The result is a unique interaction between the clean, elegant interior of GOLVET, the breathtaking views of the city and the truly diverse styles of each street art artists, which mostly can only be found in urban spaces. Drawn from the traditional salon culture, which was vivid at the beginning of the 19th century around Potsdamerstraße, GOLVET has created a space in which art, culinary and culture form a creative unity.

 

Artists

Our THE HAUS Artist:
MASHA, deerBLN, Felix Rodewaldt, Notes of Berlin, Die Dixons, GOGOPLATA, Case Maclaim, One Truth

Masha
MASHA

Masha was born at the beginning of the 90s in the Russian enclave Kaliningrad and currently lives in Berlin. She discovered her intuitive talent and has developed a recognizable style. Again and again her work pulls the viewer into new images and spheres. Her works are created spontaneously, without sketches or drawings, directly on the wall and allow for a look into the emotional world of the young Russian. She isn´t aiming for perfection, but invites the viewer to go on a soul journey, where one might feel lost at the beginning but with a closer look finds one´s way. The work that Masha created at GOLVET, mirrors her own reality, her surroundings, impressions and events, that happened to her during the creation of her piece. This way no painting looks the same, just like people are constantly changing, her art is subdued to continuous changes.

Instagram

deerBLN

deerBLN

Christian Rothenhagen (aka deerBLN) is a fine artist and graphic designer. He lives and works in Berlin in the deerBLNstudio and has had various publications and artist features in different books and magazines, both national and international. He is known for his conceptual and architecture-focused drawings and installations, his personal view of a city and its transformation, creating a pause for the viewer. His art is mostly presented in galleries but also can be found slightly hidden in urban areas. In the last two decades his work was part of solo as well as group exhibitions in Europe, USA, Canada, Lebanon and Japan. The project at GOLVET was a perfect fit for Christian, since the area around GOLVET is part of a interesting and permanent state of change. The culture-clash between Potsdamer Platz, the Neue Nationalgalerie, Kulturforum… from Pink Floyd, The Wall to the architectonic contradicting finance center in the city west… to the fast changing face of Potsdamerstraße – from the forgotten Berlin of the 80ties to the center of art and galleries. In every aspect an exciting, pulsating neighborhood. And this can all be seen from GOLVET. That fits my work – time captured.

deerblnstudio.com  |  Instagram  |  Facebook

Felix Rodewaldt

Felix Rodewaldt

Felix Rodewaldt graduated from the Academy of fine arts in Munich. He started working with stencils, templates, to spray graffiti´s and then found his own fascinating way of pursuing tape art. During his time as a student he developed into one of the most influential tape artists in Germany. Felix always plays with geometry within the room and with his work creates a play of architecture and the feeling of the room. Inside GOLVET Felix created two intertwine anamorphosis, that show circles from one certain point and from another form a zig-zag pattern. He drew the inspiration for this work from a series by Sol Lewitt and the anamorphosis by Felici Varini. Both artists influence and inspire Felix creations.

rodewaldt.de  |  Instagram  |  Facebook

Felix Rodewaldt
NOTES OF BERLIN

Born in Munich, Joab Nist is the founder of the successful blog Notes of Berlin. Besides his work online, he publishes humoristic non-fiction books like “Wellensittich entflogen – Farbe egal”, “Wir duschen am liebsten nackt” or “Heute geschlossen wegen gestern”. He studied cultural science as well as culture and media management at European University Viadrina and at Freie Universität Berlin. Joab lives in Berlin and works as a content creator and urban concepter. The award-winning Berlin blog Notes of Berlin is an homage to all the notes that Berlin leaves daily all over the city. Notes of Berlin has reached cult status and is, with 1 million page views per month, one of the most read blogs in Germany. Since 2010 Joab Nist documents the vivid “Zettelwirtschaft” of Berlin and posts daily a selection of the funniest finds – no matter if it´s an angry neighborhood complaint, romantic love letters or bizarre lost & found notes, the residents use their city to communicate. Daily culture in its purest form. Until now over 25.000 finds have been committed, a best-of is now on show at GOLVET.

notesofberlin.com  |  Instagram

DIE DIXONS
DIE DIXONS

The Berlin based street art gang knows how to draw attention to messages. They have started painting murals with huge portraits and brought it to its best, with one after another fresh mural they embellish the city. Driven by their passion and perfectionism, they surpass themselves with every new piece. Besides photorealistic themes and detailed portrayals, they also create stunning illustrations. If they are not spraying in Berlin, they tour through the world to create murals with other artists. With their piece in GOLVET they tried something unexpected – instead of working with the spray can, foils are in the center of their work. When standing at the window front in the eight floor of the restaurant, the colorful squares accentuate or hide the view and what lies beneath on the streets.

Facebook

GOGOPLATA
GOGOPLATA

Jens Tümmel a.k.a GogoPlata was born in Rüdersdorf and grew up in Berlin. As an adolescent, he started out “graffiti writing” and developed his creations into animated cartoons, illustrations, portraits, sculptures and murals. Since 2007, he has been participating in national and international exhibitions and projects.
His chef sculpture at GOLVET has all the hallmarks of an authentic GogoPlata: wit, charm and not taking himself too seriously. He has thereby interpreted the heart of GOLVET – the chefs in the kitchen – in a charming, comic-like way and gifted us with a new team member

gogoplata.de  |  Blog

CASE MACLAIM
CASE MACLAIM

Case a.k.a Andreas von Chrzanowski has been a pioneer of photo realism for over two decades now. “Power” and “movement” are important cornerstones of his German roots and also provide the inspiration for expressing his important themes of unity and power through folded hands. His work at GOLVET is inspired by William Bouguereau’s painting “The Birth of Venus”. With their luxurious, erotic aura, the depicted hands with interlinked fingers place the viewer under their spell and play with the metaphor of birth – like GOLVET itself, Case’s work is the beginning of something elegant and completely new.

maclaim.de  |  Instagram

ONE TRUTH
ONE TRUTH

One Truth is an artist duo made up of the brothers Dr.Drax and Pase. They discovered their passion for graffiti in 1998 and started working auto didactically in the underground. They are internationally renowned, part of Swiss graffiti culture and have worked with legends like Cope2 and Bates. One Truth graffiti was founded in 2003 and the two artists have helped to shape street art for years, including in the cityscape of Zurich. Their work can be found in many public places like the World Fair (Expo) Milan, the “Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten” Bern, the Olympic games of 2012 (London), Google headquarters in Zurich, the FIFA museum and many more. Besides that, their work is part of several international collections like “Galerie Vertes Modern” (Bahnhofstraße Zurich) and their work is sold through “Galartis Auction Hause” Lausanne.
The One Truth brothers have designed the bathrooms at GOLVET. They name their work “Streets of Berlin” because the rooms are reflecting the streets of Berlin and the charm that is spread with their urban street art.
“We wanted to capture the city´s flavor inside the rooms. In addition, the context of noble GOLVET teaming with Street Art was interesting for us.
A lot came up intuitively, out of the moment and without an hour-long concept. We simply went with the flow, that’s us and that´s Berlin.

onetruth.ch  |  Facebook

GOLVET

open tuesday to saturday from 6.30pm

Potsdamer Straße 58 · 10785 Berlin
tel. +49 (0)30 89064222 · info@golvet.de

Table reservation

GOLVET Restaurant

GOLVET × THE HAUS

Im achten Stock mit grandiosem Ausblick über die Hauptstadt trifft mit GOLVET × THE HAUS Spitzengastronomie auf „Urban Art“ mitten im pulsierenden kreativen Zentrum Berlins. Acht Künstlerkollektive aus THE HAUS haben eine eigene Fläche im GOLVET zur Verfügung gestellt und absoluten Freiraum für ihre Arbeit bekommen. Das Ergebnis ist ein außergewöhnliches Zusammenspiel zwischen dem eleganten, geradlinigen Interieur des GOLVET und den ganz unterschiedlichen Stilen der Street-Art-Künstler, die meist nur im urbanen Raum zu finden sind. Traditionell im Zeichen der Salonkultur, die zu Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts rund um die Potsdamer Straße gelebt wurde, ist im GOLVET nun wieder ein Raum geschaffen worden, in dem Kunst, Kulinarik und Kultur eine einmalige Liaison eingehen.

 

Artists

Unsere THE HAUS Künstler im Überblick:
MASHA, deerBLN, Felix Rodewaldt, Notes of Berlin, Die Dixons, GOGOPLATA, Case Maclaim, One Truth

Masha
MASHA

Masha wurde Anfang der 90iger Jahre in Russland in der Enklave Kaliningrad geboren und lebt heute in Berlin. Sie entdeckte ihr intuitives Talent und entwickelte rasch einen wiedererkennbaren Stil. Ihre Arbeit zieht den Betrachter hinein in eine Welt, in der man immer und immer wieder neue Bilder und Sphären entdeckt. Ihre Werke entstehen spontan, ohne Skizzen oder Entwürfe direkt an der Wand und erlauben einen Blick hinein in die emotionale Welt der jungen Russin. Sie strebt dabei nicht nach Perfektion, lädt den Betrachter ein, mit ihr auf eine Seelenreise zu gehen, bei der man am Anfang verloren scheint sich bei genauerer Betrachtung aber zurechtfindet. Das Werk, das Masha im GOLVET geschaffen hat, spiegelt ihre eigene Realität, ihre Umwelt, Eindrücke und Geschehnisse wieder, die in der Zeit des Malens passiert sind. So gleicht kein Bild dem anderen, wie auch der Mensch immer im Wandel ist, ist auch ihre Kunst stetiger Veränderung unterworfen.

Instagram

deerBLN

deerBLN

Christian Rothenhagen a.k.a. deerBLN ist freier Künstler und Gestalter, aufgewachsen in Berlin. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin im deerBLNstudio und wurde national und international in diversen Büchern und Magazinen veröffentlicht. Bekannt für seine konzeptionellen, Architektur fokussierten Zeichnungen und Installationen, den persönlichen Blick auf die Stadt und deren Veränderung, den Versuch, Zeit anzuhalten, ist seine Kunst vornehmlich in Galerien, und etwas versteckt ebenso im urbanen Raum zu sehen. In den vergangenen zwei Dekaden wurden seine Arbeiten in Solo- und Gruppenshows in Europa, den USA, Kanada, dem Libanon und in Japan ausgestellt.Für Christian passte das Projekt perfekt. Passt, weil gerade der Innenstadtbereich rund um das GOLVET eine spannende und permanente Zeit der Veränderung durchlebt. Culture-Clash zwischen dem Potsdamer Platz, der Neuen Nationalgalerie, dem Kulturforum… von Pink Floyd, „The Wall“ zum architektonisch zwiespältigen Finanzzentrum der City West. …und der sich schnell verändernden Potsdamerstraße – vom vergessenen Berlin der 80er Jahre zur Kunst- und Galeriemeile. Eine spannende, pulsierende Gegend in jeder Hinsicht. Und aus dem GOLVET ist all das zu sehen. Das passt zu seiner Arbeit – Zeit fest(ge)halten.

deerblnstudio.com  |  Instagram  |  Facebook

Felix Rodewaldt

Felix Rodewaldt

Felix Rodewaldt studierte an der Kunstakademie München. Seine ersten Schritte machte er mit Stencils, Schablonen mit denen Graffitis gesprüht werden, und fand dann seinen ganz eigenen, faszinierenden Weg zur Tape-Art. Während seiner Studienzeit entwickelte er sich zu einem der einflussreichsten Tape-Artists Deutschlands. Felix beschäftigt sich stets mit Geometrie im Raum und erschaffe mit seinen Arbeiten ein Spiel mit der Architektur und dem Raumgefühl. Für die Gestaltung seiner Fläche im GOLVET malt Felix zwei ineinandergreifende Anamorphosen, die Kreise aus einem bestimmten Blickwinkel zeigen und aus anderen Perspektiven ein Zickzack Muster ergeben. Die Inspirationen für das Bild Konzept stammt aus der Serie von Sol Lewitt und der Anamorphose von Felici Varini. Beides sind Künstler, die Felix in seinem Schaffen immer wieder begeistern und dessen Essenzen seine Werke beeinflussen.

rodewaldt.de  |  Instagram  |  Facebook

Felix Rodewaldt
NOTES OF BERLIN

Der gebürtige Münchner Joab Nist ist der Gründer des Erfolgblogs Notes of Berlin. Neben seiner Tätigkeit im Netz publiziert er unterhaltsame Sachbücher wie „Wellensittich entflogen – Farbe egal“, „Wir duschen am liebsten nackt“ oder „Heute geschlossen wegen gestern“. Er studierte Kulturwissenschaften sowie Kultur- und Medienmanagement an der Europa-Universität Viadrina und Freien Universität-Berlin. Joab lebt und arbeitet als freier Content Creator und Urban-Konzepter in Berlin. Der preisgekrönte Berlin-Blog Notes of Berlin ist eine Hommage an all die Notizen, die Berlin tagtäglich im Stadtbild hinterlässt. Notes of Berlin hat mittlerweile Kultstatus erreicht und gehört mit bis zu 1 Million Seitenaufrufen pro Monat zu einem der am meisten gelesenen Blogs Deutschlands. Seit 2010 dokumentiert Joab Nist mit seinem Projekt Notes of Berlin die lebendige Berliner Zettelwirtschaft und postet täglich eine Auswahl der unterhaltsamsten Fundstücke – ob wütende Nachbarschaftsbeschwerden, romantische Liebesbekundungen oder skurrile Lost & Found‐Notizen, der Bürger nutzt seine Stadt als Plattform um sich mitzuteilen. Pure Alltagskultur in seiner reinsten Form. Bislang wurden über 25 000 Fundstücke eingereicht, im GOLVET gibt es daraus ein ultimatives Best Of zu sehen.

notesofberlin.com  |  Instagram

DIE DIXONS
DIE DIXONS

Die Berliner Streetart Gang weiß wie man die Aufmerksamkeit auf wichtige Botschaften lenkt. Alles begann mit „Murals“ (Wandmalereien) übergroßer Portraits in Perfektion und schmücken mit einem Mural nach dem anderen ihre Heimatstadt. Getrieben von Leidenschaft und Perfektionismus, übertreffen sie sich mit jedem neuen Stück. Neben fotorealistischen Themen und detailreichen Portraits, entwerfen sie auch faszinierende Illustrationen. Wenn sie nicht gerade in Berlin arbeiten, reisen sie durch die ganze Welt, um mit anderen Streetartists neue Werke zu kreieren. Für das Werk im GOLVET haben sich Die Dixons an etwas Neues und für die Jungs unübliches gewagt – statt mit der Spraydose zu arbeiten, stehen diesmal Folien im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit. Wenn man nun an der Fensterfront steht, verbergen oder betonen die kräftigen Farbquadrate den Blick zum Potsdamer Platz und eröffnen eine neue Sicht auf das, was unter dem 8. Stock des Restaurants liegt und passiert.

Facebook

GOGOPLATA
GOGOPLATA

Jens Tümmel (aka Gogoplata) wurde in Rüdersdorf geboren und wuchs in Berlin auf. In seiner Jugend startete er mit „Graffiti Writing“ und entwickelte seine Kreationen hin zu animitierten Cartoons, Illustrationen, Gemälden, Skulpturen und Wandmalereien. Seit 2007 nimmt er an unterschiedlichen Ausstellungen und Projekten als Gogoplata teil und arbeitet momentan nebenher bei WENU Crew mit.

gogoplata.de  |  Blog

CASE MACLAIM
CASE MACLAIM

Case aka Andreas von Chrzanowski ist Gründungsmitglied der Ma`Claim Crew und seit über zwei Jahrzenten ein Pionier des Fotorealismus. „Macht“ und „Bewegung“ sind gleichermaßen Grundpfeiler seiner deutschen Wurzeln und liefern die Inspiration, seine bedeutenden Inhalte von Einigkeit und Macht, mit übereinander gefalteten Händen auszudrücken. Die gefalteten Hände stehen aber nicht nur „Bewegung“ im körperlichen Sinne, sondern auch für die politische Bewegung, die meist ohne einen direkten Kontext gestaltet wird. Dies zwingt den Betrachter dazu, sich den Rest der Geschichte, mit Bezug auf die eigene Situation, selbst zu erdenken.

maclaim.de  |  Instagram

ONE TRUTH
ONE TRUTH

One Truth ist ein Künstlerduo bestehend aus den beiden Brüdern Dr.Drax und Pase. Beide entdeckten 1998 ihre Leidenschaft für Graffiti und begannen autodidaktisch im Untergrund zu arbeiten. Sie sind international anerkannt, Teil der Schweizer Graffiti Kultur und haben in der Vergangenheit mit Legenden wie Cope2 und Bates gearbeitet. 2003 gründeten sie One Truth Graffiti und prägen seitdem die Graffiti Landschaft genauso wie das Stadtbild Zürichs. Ihre Arbeit findet sich an vielen öffentlichen Plätzen wie der Weltausstellung (Expo) Milano, dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten, den Olympischen Spielen 2012 (London), dem Google-Hauptsitz (Zürich), dem FIFA-Museum und vielen mehr. Daneben sind sie an mehreren internationalen Sammlungen wie „Galerie Vertes Modern“ (Bahnhofstrasse Zürich) präsent. Darüber hinaus wird ihre Arbeit auf dem „Galartis Auction Hause“ Lausanne gehandelt.

onetruth.ch  |  Facebook

Social Wall

GOLVET

geöffnet von Dienstag bis Samstag ab 18:30 Uhr

Potsdamer Straße 58 · 10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0)30 89064222 · info@golvet.de

Tischreservierung Zur Restaurant-Website